facebook
Check out Bark Busters Home Dog Training on Yelp

Brian T. | San Pedro, California

August 1 2017 Bark busters rating

My girlfriend and I rescued a little lab mix, Lola,through a friend on facebook last July. She was about a year old at that time and was very timid and a little scared for a while. A few months later she had established her back yard and started to be a huge pain when people came to visit. Barking and growling non stop, even if we put her in our back house or in another room. She started doing it to the postman, pizza guy and the gardeners, and wouldn't stop till after they had been gone for 15 minutes sometimes. The final straw was when our 2 year old grandson came and she freaked out at him. I looked around the net for a local trainer to help get her calmed down. I know i didn't want a group setting. I saw the website for Bark Busters and once I saw all the great reviews on Yelp, gave them a call. From that first phone call, I knew I would have success with Sue. She understood the problem we were having with Lola and was fully prepared to tackle it when she came to our house. The fact that Lola didn't do her normal freak out while Sue was there confirmed my initial feelings about Bark Busters methods. Sue was able to keep Lola calm and showed us in a comfortable and easy couple of hours how to teach Lola to calm down when guests or strangers come to our house. It's been about a month and Lola is much calmer overall and happily greeted the grandson when he came over recently !! I highly recommend Sue and the great work she does with the Bark Busters training. Worth every cent and then some. You will not find a better trainer any where.

aggressionbarking

Aileen H. | Torrance, California

July 11 2017 Bark busters rating

This is me and my husband's first dog together, and having a doberman is quite a handful, but of course totally rewarding, especially when you have Sue as a trainer. We signed up for the 1 year program and so far we have had 3 training sessions, and we have already seen so many improvements with our 10 month old puppy. Some big ones are: no more jumping on us or anyone else, no more barking at strange noises, responses to commands such as: "bah" "sit" "come." We have zero regrets and with any future dogs, we will contact Sue without a question.

So all in all, we totally recommend Sue and Bark Busters :)

barkingjumping uppulling on leadother

Tamara P. | Manhattan Beach, California

May 6 2017 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters to our rescue!! Affordable, timely, great communication and completely satisfied with our choice to give them a call. Sue Doyle is amazing and so great with Leia, our 9 and a half year old Boston Terrier. We seeked out Bark Busters after realizing our fur childs anxiety was becoming increasingly disruptive to what sadly became our daily regularities. How did our sweet little fur child become the alpha in our home!? She is loved and spoiled but when her running our household got out of control Sue came into our lives to help us teach Leia who is pack leader, and flip the script for a happy and healthy mutually respectful relationship between us. Who says an old dog can't learn new tricks?! Thank you Bark Busters and Sue for everything. Get over your ego or fear of failure with your new pooch (or old) and give Bark Busters a call. You will not regret it!

hyperactivitypulling on leadseparation anxietytoileting

Tawnya S. | Redondo Beach, California

September 11 2016 Bark busters rating

I have been working with Sue over the last few months, and I will say that she has been amazing from the start. She met with us the first time to assess our situation, and spent time explaining the Bark Busters philosophy. My dog has anxiety when encountering dogs on a leash. I will never forget the look of surprise on Sue's face when she saw the behavior the first time. She had been working with us for a couple of hours, and our dog is otherwise very well behaved. In a moment she recovered, and started coming up with potential solutions. Success has not come easily. We have tried a few methods without success, but Sue continues to meet with us and offer alternatives. We have now moved forward putting our dog in situations I never thought he would tolerate, and we are seeing progress that I once thought was impossible. I strongly feel that it is Sue's diligence that has led us to this place. I do not believe that other training programs that offer one or two hour sessions would have had the same results. It is Sue's continued support and assistance in walking us through different situations that has given us results and the hope that we will reach our goal.

aggressionbarkingpulling on lead
13122-1462317434.jpg

Kathy P. | San Pedro, California

April 16 2016 Bark busters rating

Recently we called Bark Busters (Sue Doyle) to help us out with our 9 mo. old cavapoo, Sue was great she guided us in the right direction. Sue comes to your home which was a huge help. Thanks Sue!

pulling on leadrecallseparation anxietyother

Theresa F. | Torrance, California

December 16 2015 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters, and Sue Doyle are the best. My dog constantly barked and pulled on the leash during walks. After just one visit with Sue, the barking was under control. My dog also began to behave on our walks. I was so amazed with the results, that I just had to share this with others. So if your dog's barking has become a problem and you need a quick solution, Bark Busters is the place to call.

barkingpulling on lead

Linda S. | El Segundo, California

December 3 2015 Bark busters rating

I am SO grateful that I found Sue Doyle of Bark Busters! My recent rescue, a 2.5 year old American Eskimo, came from an abusive past & had picked up some aggression & behavior issues as a result. After ONE session, he is already demonstrating tremendous improvement. Sue is patiently providing the proper tools to train my dog and ME in transforming him into a happy, secure, and "issue-free" member of our family. She is thorough, patient, and an incredibly nice person....she knows dogs, and she CARES. I'm very impressed by Bark Busters' methods, and equally impressed by the way Sue implements them. I'd gladly give her 10 stars if I could & highly recommend! Thank you, Sue!

aggressionbarking
11876-1436400405.jpg

Robin P. | Torrance, California

July 9 2015 Bark busters rating

I LOVE SUE DOYLE! Its rare to find someone as passionate about dogs as Sue is. She is sweet, knowledgeable, and not argumentative or overly forceful about the training which really creates an excellent learning environment for both myself and my dog. She's instilled great skills in me that has taught me how to deal with an incredibly hyper Wheaten puppy. Thanks Sue!

barkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallrivalryseparation anxietypuppy training
11075-1423160326.jpg

Haley M. | Redondo Beach, California

February 5 2015 Bark busters rating

We called Sue and Bark Busters because our two year old Maltese/Westie mix was having some behavioral issues related to the addition of our new baby to the family. Our once loving and sweet dog had become temperamental and aggressive when I tried to put her on the leash for walks. From the first time I called Sue and spoke with her on the phone about our issues with our dog, I knew that this was someone who had a true understanding of dogs. Sue was incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and professional. I really wanted someone who I knew could hep us and I was certain I had found that person as soon as I spoke with Sue that first time. Sure enough at our first session, everything I'd hoped for after our initial conversation turned out to be true. Sue spent a great deal of time talking with us and understanding our dog, her history, our family situation, and all of our dog's behaviors. By the time we actually got started with our work, I really felt like Sue knew exactly what was going on, what we wanted to get out of our time together, and how to help us. Once we got started with our session, Sue was great at helping us to understand why our dog was acting the way she was and gave us simple, yet highly effective techniques to combat the unwanted behavior. Throughout our whole experience Sue was incredibly responsive, attentive, and respectful. I couldn't have asked for a better experience and I cannot recommend Sue highly enough.

aggressionbarkingrivalrypuppy training

Kevin C. | Torrance, California

November 7 2014 Bark busters rating

Amazing!! Saw results by the end of our first session. Not only great hands on training but excellent information about dogs and their way of thinking. Sue put our hearts at ease and my family and I learned a lot. We are extremely hopeful that this training will transform our fearful little malti-poo. Thanks Sue and Barkbusters!

aggressionbarkingjumping uprecall
10730-1417457887.jpg

Leo & Randy L. | Lomita, California

September 18 2014 Bark busters rating

We thank you very much for the things you have taught us. Understanding dogs and dog behavior has been invaluable to us. Our handling, and training, of our puppy Tanner has improved immensely, as can be seen in his behavior. We have included 2 videos to show the difference before and after we started implementing our new knowledge about being the "pack leaders".

One of the must impacting lessons was to learn that most dogs look to the leader of the pack to guide them in everything they do. If there is no pack leader, then they assume the role of being the leader, and that explains why he was hard to control while on walks, or what we call "patrol". We did not control him in the correct ways. We thought we were doing it right, but we were not. You were able to show us how to take control while at the same time, allowing Tanner to enjoy the experience of "going on patrol".

I am sure that as we continue to read through the training materials, and apply the techniques of being the pack leader, there will be many more examples of Tanner acting and behaving as he should, being a member of "our pack".

barkingjumping uppulling on leadother

Terry S. | Rolling Hills Estates, California

August 12 2013 Bark busters rating

I can hardly believe how well Audrey is doing. She no longer jumps on us even if she is very excited like when we come home. She comes to me on the trail when I call her even if I do have to resort to the BAH! which, by the way, always works. She is learning to stay. I would never have credited it that the training could work so quickly.

jumping uppulling on leadrecall
t_11151.jpg

Jennifer and John Shearouse | San Pedro, California

July 3 2013

I can say, I was amazed! Our rescue boxer, Woobie, was the "terror of the neighborhood"! We were literally at the end of our rope. He had bit a young child. We called Sue, we didn't want to give him up. He had already been returned to the shelter twice before us. Sue rescued US! She "trained" US and showed us what we had been doing/not been doing, correcting us and giving great tips to my whole family. Within the first 5 minutes with Sue, he was responding! He is still a work in progress, but she has worked wonders! All the neighbors have commented on how he had "Totally changed". Yesterday, I actually took him to Petco! (Something a month ago would have NEVER happened!) He was great! Sniffed a few people, licked their leg and moved on. THANK YOU SUE!

8625-1376519053.jpg

Sean M. | San Pedro, California

January 16 2013 Bark busters rating

My fiancee and I were having a lot of trouble with our 1 year old Puggle, specifically, her incessant barking, biting, and stubborn behavior. Neither of us had any prior knowledge of how to train a dog so we were desperate for a solution. Sue Doyle gave us an informative overview of why dogs act the way they do, tips on how to curb these negative behaviors, and then, putting the information/tips into actionable training. Additionally, Sue gave us homework assignments which we have being doing religiously.

Overall, within one lesson, the barking and biting have been reduced drastically, and being a skeptic myself on fast results, I am astounded at how quickly this occurred. Follow Sue's guidance, do the homework, and you should have a happy family!

barkingchewinghyperactivityjumping upseparation anxietytoileting

Kaye G. | Torrance, California

December 10 2012 Bark busters rating

I first signed up with Bark Busters about 2 years ago when Lori was trainer. We have 2 rescue dogs with barking issues and 1 who is aggressive to other dogs. After Lori moved, Sue Doyle took over. We only worked once or twice and then I didn't follow up on training like I should have. We have 2 family dogs that visit on Thanksgiving and it has always been stressful so I decided to call Sue again. She came quickly. The first training session she worked on greeting people at the front door and the second session we worked on meeting other dogs. The day of the last session the first dog and 3 people arrived, then 4 more people, then another dog and lots more family, and our dogs were very well behaved. We made it through the holiday with no confrontations and all had a great time. Sue showed me many techniques that truly helped--now all I have to do is keep up with the training! If I have problems again I know she will be out in a few days to help me again.

aggressionbarkingjumping up

Christiana M. | Redondo Beach, California

August 24 2012 Bark busters rating

I've always been really good with dogs and training. Three years ago I adopted a German Shepherd rescue with a long list of issues. He turned in to a loyal dog with a happy disposition; a totally different dog than what I started with.

There were a few issues however, that I did not know how to fix. The most important being that although he would follow me around indoors, once outside he took the lead and would run away and not listen when called back. I would be the only person in the dog park still chasing their dog at closing time.

After just one session with Sue Doyle, he understood to come when called and to follow within 6 to 10 feet of me (instead of just far enough so he could still see me following him).

I usually don't write reviews unless I find something really special. Sue trained us BOTH very well and her training was fun for both dog and owner. I can't wait for our next session and I would highly recommend her and Bark Busters to anyone who feels they have a dog (or just a few issues) that are 'untrainable.' You'll find there is no such thing as an untrainable dog (or owner).

recall

Shelly M. | Long Beach, California

May 31 2011 Bark busters rating

I hired Bark Busters to help with the barking problem I had w/ my Smooth Fox Terrier- Flash. I tried training with another company with no luck- Sue Doyle helped me get results the first session. She read Flash well and customized several commands that actually got his attention- we are continuing our training with great results- I highly recommend Sue and Bark Busters they have a fresh reasonable approach that can be followed to achieve quick lasting results and the benefit is less barking and a far happier dog... and owner.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadrecall

Lori T. | Torrance

July 26 2010

I had no idea that the mild-mannered dog I had agreed to foster, and who hid in the bushes the entire first night, would turn out to be fear aggressive with an attacking response. Sue is remarkably gifted with the ability to give a quick and accurate assessment of an issue, and has great communication skills. The result of the time she spent with us was Madison's adoption by just the right person.

Jayde J. | Hermosa Beach

July 26 2010

By the end of the first session, Lucy was already acting SO much better! My ADHD dog actually can listen! I was amazed.

D.J. O. | Redondo Beach

July 26 2010

Sue has a great way of explaining the techniques and correcting what I may be doing wrong to improve Bella's performance. After the first few sessions, I feel more confident with Bella; and I like knowing that I have a working relationship with Sue.